LiNaBioFluid conference session

Following an initial discussion with the EMRS Spring 2017 (May 22-26) Symposium K organizers, it was decided to organize a session devoted to LiNaBioFluid scientific topics during the first day of the Symposium K.

The session has been organised successfully (http://www.european-mrs.com/bioinspired-and-biointegrated-materials-new-frontiers-nanomaterials-vii-emrs). Six invited talks based on results obtained within the LiNaBioFluid project were presented during the special session "Advanced Surface Laser Engineering for Biomimetics" in Symposium K (Bioinspired and biointegrated materials as new frontiers nanomaterials VII), and in Symposium X (New frontiers in laser interaction: from hard coatings to smart materials) at the E-MRS Spring Meeting 2017, held between May 22nd and 26th 2017 in Strasbourg, France. All talks received significant interest from the Symposium K participants. The most important information on the event has been uploaded to the project website and was announced as well on the LiNaBioFluid ResearchGate project page https://www.researchgate.net/project/LiNaBioFluid-Laser-induced-Nanostructures-as-Biomimetic-Model-of-Fluid-Transport-in-the-Integument-of-Animals-EU-HORIZON-2020.





LiNaBioFluid members received E-MRS Graduate Student Award

Mr. Evangelos Skoulas has been awarded the E-MRS Graduate Student Award for his research in the field of biomimetic surface processing in the framework of the LiNaBioFluid Project. The E-MRS Graduate Student Award was created to recognize and promote exceptional research done by graduates in the field of materials science. Evangelos Skoulas presented his work in biomimetic surface structuring using cylindrical vector femtosecond laser beams during the Bioinspired and biointegrated materials as new frontiers nanomaterials VII symposium at E-MRS spring meeting 2017.The VII edition of the Symposium, held in Strasburg (France), was dedicated to recent development on fundamentals and innovative applications of bio-nanotechnologies, with a special focus on biomaterials engineering and frontier nanomaterials based on emerging concepts for preparing, characterizing and applying bioinspired and biomimetic materials. Evalngelo’s presented work was part of his Doctoral Thesis under the supervision of Dr. Emmanuel Stratakis and part of LiNaBioFluid project at Institute of Electronic Structure and Laser at Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas.




A team of four LiNaBioFLuid members received the International Bionic Award of the Schauenburg Foundation

A four-person interdisciplinary team from Aachen and Linz received the International Bionic Award of the Schauenburg Foundation. Dr. Philipp Comanns (RWTH Aachen), Kai Winands and Mario Pothen (Fraunhofer IPT), and Gerda Buchberger (JKU Linz) received the award for developing channel structures for the directional transport of fluids on surfaces derived from the Texas horned lizard as role model. The ceremony took place in context of the Biomimetic Congress "Patents from Nature" in Bremen on 21st October 2016.



Biomimetic Wetting: Best Presentation Award for Cristina Plamadeala

Cristina Plamadeala has been awarded the Best Presentation Award at the European Materials Research Society (EMRS) 2016 Fall Meeting from September 19 to 22, 2016 in Warsaw - Poland. She received the award in recognition of the Best Student Presentation in Symposium B "Bioinspired and biointegrated materials as frontiers nanomaterials VI". Her presentation was entitled "Three-dimensional laser-written structures fabricated by two-photon polymerization for wetting experiments". She reported on laser-written micro-structures with interesting wetting properties, which are inspired by features occurring at the integument of animals like flat bark bugs and moisture-harvesting lizards. Her results demonstrated that biomimetic surface micro-ornamentation can promote a directional transport of fluids, which may lead to applications in microfluidics and friction reduction. The work is part of her doctoral Thesis, which is performed in the Framework of the European FET Open project LiNaBioFluid (www.laserbiofluid.eu) under supervision of a.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Johannes Heitz and Univ.-Prof. Dr. Werner Baumgartner at the Institute of Applied Physics and the Institute of Biomedical Mechatronics of the JKU Linz.

Award ceremony (C. Plamadeala: right)

Published on project www.laserbiofluid.eu